cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
Highlighted
Helper I

Question on the Go Daddy $2.95 a month back-up and issues with that?

I have a  small classic WP site that is not an active blog.  I might need it backed up once every month if that.  I have read in this forum that if I buy that service (Go Daddy back up for $2.95 a month) it backs it up every day and then runs out of space.   I have heard that this is some sort of bait and switch like everything else with Go Daddy.

I just need one backup of my site.  I am not technically minded at all.   Can someone direct me to how to backup a small classic Go Daddy hosted WP site right to my desktop computer.

Can that be done by a novice without ruining the site?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Question on the Go Daddy $2.95 a month back-up and issues with that?

@BennyK 

The backup service is not a scam at all. People just don't know how to read sometimes or understand how to follow directions. The smallest backup service give you 10 gb of backup space. Guess what happens when that fills up? That's right! It stops making backups. All you have to do is go in and erase old backups you no longer need and then, like magic, it works again. 

However, I don't think this is what you need. It sounds like you just need a one-time backup for archiving purposes. Just search for a backup plugin for WordPress. There are tons of them out there. Make sure it has a good rating and has been updated recently.

I am a GoDaddy End User - Just Like You
* Please note that I offer free advice on this forum. I DO NOT answer private messages. Please ask your question in the proper forum so the answer can assist EVERYONE in the community and not just you. Thanks! *

Once your issue is resolved,
please be sure to come back and click accept for the solution

Get Better Support on the Community Boards!
Etiquette When Asking for Help from the Community

Helper I