Skip to main content
Keep your business open during COVID-19Learn More
Call us
Phone numbers and hours
Help Center

Explore our online help resources

We are experiencing high volume today, and as a result, you may experience longer than usual wait times.
BlogHelp

Microsoft 365 from GoDaddy Help

Release or delete a quarantined message

Messages are quarantined when they’re suspected of containing malware or phishing. After a message is moved into Microsoft 365’s quarantine, you can review it and then decide what do to with it, like release or delete it.

  1. Sign in to the Microsoft 365 Defender Portal. Use your Microsoft 365 email address and password (your GoDaddy username and password won't work here).
  2. After the Quarantine page loads, verify that the Email tab is selected. You’ll see a list of messages that are quarantined.
  3. From the list, review the details of a specific message:
    • Find out why the message was quarantined: Select a message to open the message details. You'll see a Quarantine reason listed.
      message details
    • Preview the message: After viewing the message details, select the three dot icon More menu, and then select Preview message to see the actual message that was sent.
      select preview message

After you've previewed a message, you can release it or delete it from quarantine.

Release a message from quarantine

Customize how a message is released to its intended recipients.

  1. To release a message from quarantine, select the message, and then select Release.
    select release
  2. Choose whether to Release to all recipients or Release to one or more of the original recipients of the email.
    choose who to release the message to
    • If you choose Release email to one or more of the original recipients of the email, enter the email address for each recipient.
      enter recipient email addresses
  3. (Optional) To send the message to another recipient, select Send a copy of this message to other recipients, and then enter the email address for each recipient.
    send a copy to other recipients and enter their email addresses
  4. (Optional) If the message was incorrectly sent to quarantine, select the checkbox next to Submit the message to Microsoft to improve detection (false positive). Or, if the message was incorrectly sent to quarantine by Advanced Email Security, report the message as Safe after it's delivered to your mailbox.
    submit message if false positive
    • If you choose to submit the message to Microsoft, turn on the Allow messages with similar attributes (URL, sender, etc.) toggle to temporarily prevent similar messages from being quarantined. The following options will be available:
      • Remove allow entry after: Select how long you want to allow messages like this. Select 1 day to 30 days. By default, 30 days is selected.
      • Allow entry note (optional): Enter a description for the allow.
        turn on allow message toggle
  5. When you’re finished, select Release message.

Delete a message from quarantine

Remove a quarantined message with no further action.

  1. Select the message from the list, and then select Delete messages.
    select delete messages
  2. In the warning that opens, select Continue.
    select continue

The message is immediately deleted without being sent to the original recipients.

In the three dot icon More menu, you can take other actions, like sharing or downloading the quarantined message or blocking the sender.

Related step

  • Admins can add trusted messages to the allow list to prevent similar messages from being quarantined.

More info